The Book Whisperer

The Book Whisperer, by Donalyn Miller, is the study group choice that I’m doing with my friends over the summer months.  I think that Donalyn and I must be twins separated at birth…because everything she says in this book makes me want to get up and yell “Amen sister!”  The Book Whisperer isn’t offering me much in the way of “new ideas,” but it has served to remind me about the importance of knowing our readers and being prepared to offer students books that really speak to them…hence, the whispering

I’m reminded that I need to make sure that I continue to be “readerly” and keep abreast of the newest in literature.  I really haven’t read a great children’s/young adult novel in quite some time, so I’ve challenged myself to read and journal using “Lit Logs” over the summer months.

Just finished the 2011 Newbery Award Winner, Moon Over Manifest, by Clare Vanderpool and I MUST GUSH!  This book is an extraordinary piece of historical fiction that I can’t wait to “whisper” to a student!

I have started the 2012 Newbery Award Winner, Dead End in Norvelt, by Jack Gantos.  So far, I know I have some boys who will really get into this (including my own 11-year-old son!).

I can’t believe how far behind I am in my own reading…YIKES!

Leave a Reply

